Competitor details last verified 2026-08-30. Platforms change pricing and features — verify on the provider’s official pages.
The best Buy Me a Coffee alternative depends on the job: Ko-fi is the closest match and lowest-fee option for tips; Patreon suits memberships, Substack newsletters, Gumroad digital products, Beacons link-in-bio commerce, and FanBell paid questions, shoutouts, and small requests. For most creators seeking a direct replacement, Ko-fi is the best starting point.
Last verified: August 2026. Platforms change pricing and features, so confirm current numbers on each provider’s official pages before deciding. FanBell’s current terms are on its pricing page.
How does Buy Me a Coffee’s $5-coffee model work?
Creators set a coffee price of $3, $5 (the default), or $10. A supporter can buy one coffee, several at once, or enter a custom amount above it, according to Buy Me a Coffee’s coffee-price help article (verified August 2026).
Buy Me a Coffee also offers Memberships for recurring monthly support and a Shop for pre-made digital or physical products, as described in its Help Center overview (verified August 2026).
Every payment carries Buy Me a Coffee’s flat 5% platform fee. Stripe’s standard processing of 2.9% + $0.30 also applies, along with a 0.5% payout-processing fee, +1% on international payments, and +0.5% on subscription payments, according to Buy Me a Coffee’s charge-calculation article (verified August 2026).
Unlike Ko-fi’s 0–5% structure, Buy Me a Coffee does not offer a free plan that reduces its platform fee to zero: its 5% fee applies to every coffee, while Ko-fi charges 0% on tips and 5% on shop, membership, and commission payments under its Free plan (Ko-fi fee explainer, verified August 2026).
When does a fixed-price coffee stop fitting the request?
A coffee button fits straightforward support. It becomes less precise when a fan wants to pay for a defined outcome, such as a private answer, personalized shoutout, or small custom service with an expected delivery time.
Buy Me a Coffee’s official overview organizes its product around Support, Memberships, and a Shop; it does not document a separate paid-question or personalized-shoutout offer type in that overview (Help Center overview, verified August 2026). Creators may still arrange custom work independently, but the documented Membership and Shop blocks are designed for recurring support and listed products rather than a trackable one-off request with its own turnaround expectation.
How do Buy Me a Coffee and six alternatives compare?
| Tool | Best for | Monthly cost | Platform fee | Follower minimum shown on reviewed pages | Payouts |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Buy Me a Coffee | Simple one-click support, plus a shop and membership tiers | Free, $0/mo | 5% flat, plus Stripe processing of 2.9% + $0.30, +0.5% payout processing, +1% international, and +0.5% on subscriptions | Not stated on the FAQ or pricing/help pages reviewed | Stripe to the creator’s bank |
| FanBell | Structured paid Q&A, shoutouts, and small services, alongside tips | Free, $0/mo (pricing, verified August 2026) | 12%, only when a fan pays (pricing, verified August 2026) | None (paid fan interaction and pricing, verified August 2026) | Stripe Connect, direct to bank (how it works, verified August 2026) |
| Ko-fi | A lower-fee tip jar with an optional shop and memberships | Free, $0/mo; Gold $12/mo | 0% on tips; 5% on shop, membership, and commission sales on Free; 0% on everything on Gold | Not stated on the pricing or fee pages reviewed | Creator’s connected PayPal or Stripe account |
| Patreon | Recurring membership tiers with built-in community tools | Free to start, $0/mo | 10% of earnings on the standard plan for pages published after Aug. 4, 2025; legacy pages may be on 5%, 8%, or 11% | Not stated on the pricing or creator-fee pages reviewed | In-platform to bank or PayPal; payment processing applies on top |
| Substack | Paid newsletter subscriptions | Free to start, $0/mo; fees begin when paid subscriptions are enabled | 10% of subscription revenue, plus Stripe processing of approximately 2.9% + $0.30 and a 0.7% recurring-billing fee | Not stated on the cost page reviewed | Stripe to the creator’s bank |
| Gumroad | Selling a digital product or course repeatedly | Free, $0/mo | 10% + $0.50 per direct transaction through your own link; 30% through Gumroad Discover | Not stated on the pricing page reviewed | Direct deposit or PayPal, varying by country |
| Beacons | A storefront, media kit, link-in-bio, and paid requests | Free plan through $90/mo across four tiers | 9% on Free and Creator ($10/mo); 0% on Creator Plus ($30/mo) and Creator Max ($90/mo) | Not stated on the plans page reviewed | Creator’s connected PayPal or Stripe account |
The follower-minimum column reports only what the cited official pages stated; “not stated” is not the same as a guarantee of eligibility in every country or account situation.
Sources verified August 2026: Buy Me a Coffee’s charge-calculation article, FAQ, and coffee-price help article; Ko-fi’s pricing page and fee explainer; Patreon’s pricing page and creator-fees overview; Substack’s cost explainer, cross-checked against Substack’s public 10% figure because its help pages block automated verification; Gumroad’s pricing page; and Beacons’ pricing page. FanBell’s figures come from FanBell’s pricing page and how-it-works page.
Where does FanBell fit if you want more than a tip button?
FanBell fits creators who want to list defined paid interactions rather than direct every supporter toward an adjustable tip. Its offer types include a private question, personalized shoutout, or small custom service, alongside tips and project support.
FanBell supports fixed-price offers with turnaround expectations and a decline-and-refund path (how it works, verified August 2026). It has no follower minimum, no monthly fee, and a 12% platform fee that applies only when a fan pays (pricing, verified August 2026). Payouts use Stripe Connect and go directly to the creator’s bank (how it works, verified August 2026).
That 12% fee is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee (Buy Me a Coffee charge calculation, verified August 2026). It is also higher than Ko-fi’s 0% fee on tips and 5% Free-plan fee on shop, membership, and commission payments (Ko-fi fee explainer, verified August 2026).
FanBell is consequently a narrower fit, not a universal replacement. Creators focused mainly on newsletters, recurring communities, digital-product marketplaces, or link-in-bio tools will find those functions more directly represented by Substack, Patreon, Gumroad, or Beacons. Creators should also confirm that their required integrations and Stripe Connect payout setup suit their country and workflow before choosing.
See Paid Private Questions and Personalized Shoutouts for the interaction formats, or read the full FanBell vs. Buy Me a Coffee comparison.
How does each alternative cover a different creator need?
Ko-fi: closest match and lowest-fee tips
Ko-fi is the closest direct alternative because it retains the tip-shop-membership structure. Ko-fi charges 0% on tips, while Buy Me a Coffee charges 5% on every coffee (Ko-fi fee explainer; Buy Me a Coffee charge calculation, both verified August 2026).
Ko-fi’s Free plan charges 5% on shop, membership, and commission sales, while its $12/mo Gold plan reduces those platform fees to 0% (Ko-fi pricing, verified August 2026). Ko-fi documents Commissions as its custom-work category; the reviewed pricing and fee pages do not show separate paid-Q&A or personalized-shoutout offer types.
Patreon: recurring memberships and community
Patreon is designed around recurring membership tiers and community tools. Its standard platform fee is 10% for creator pages published after Aug. 4, 2025, while legacy pages may remain on 5%, 8%, or 11% plans (Patreon creator-fees overview, verified August 2026).
That standard 10% rate is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee, but Patreon’s product is centered on sustained membership and community rather than occasional coffee-sized support (Patreon pricing, verified August 2026).
Substack: paid newsletters
Substack is the clearest fit for creators whose primary paid product is a newsletter. Substack charges 10% of subscription revenue, plus Stripe processing of approximately 2.9% + $0.30 and a 0.7% recurring-billing fee (Substack cost explainer, verified August 2026).
Its 10% platform rate is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5%, but its publishing and subscription model is purpose-built for scheduled newsletter output rather than one-time tips.
Gumroad: repeatable digital-product sales
Gumroad is the strongest fit in this group for repeatedly selling a digital product or course. It charges 10% + $0.50 for a direct sale made through the creator’s own link and 30% for a sale through Gumroad Discover (Gumroad pricing, verified August 2026).
That direct-sale fee is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% platform fee, but Gumroad centers the buying flow on products rather than treating a shop as an addition to a tip page.
Beacons: link-in-bio commerce and paid requests
Beacons combines a storefront, media kit, link-in-bio page, and Requests block. It charges a 9% transaction fee on the Free and $10/mo Creator plans, while the $30/mo Creator Plus and $90/mo Creator Max plans reduce the transaction fee to 0% (Beacons plans, verified August 2026).
Beacons’ 9% entry-tier fee is higher than Buy Me a Coffee’s 5%. Its paid tiers may become more economical at higher sales volume, but the better result depends on monthly revenue, payment processing, and whether the creator needs Beacons’ broader link-in-bio toolset.
How much can an alternative save on a $5 payment?
Using Buy Me a Coffee’s published rates, a $5 coffee incurs a 5% platform fee of $0.25, approximately $0.445 in Stripe processing at 2.9% + $0.30, and a 0.5% payout-processing fee of $0.025. That leaves about $4.28 before international or subscription add-ons (Buy Me a Coffee charge calculation, verified August 2026).
Ko-fi charges a 0% platform fee on the same $5 tip, so only the fees from the creator’s connected PayPal or Stripe account apply (Ko-fi fee explainer, verified August 2026). The precise net amount depends on that processor and the creator’s country.
The comparison changes outside plain tips. Gumroad’s direct-sale fee is 10% + $0.50, while Patreon’s standard plan and Substack each use a 10% headline platform rate (Gumroad pricing, Patreon pricing, and Substack cost explainer, verified August 2026). Buy Me a Coffee’s 5% headline rate is lower, although its payout, international, and subscription surcharges can also apply.
Which platform nets more depends on the transaction type, payment size, processor, and applicable surcharges—not just the headline percentage. See creator platform fees explained for a broader breakdown.
Frequently asked questions
What is the closest alternative to Buy Me a Coffee?
Ko-fi is the closest match because it offers the same general combination of tips, a shop, and memberships. It charges 0% on tips instead of Buy Me a Coffee’s flat 5% (Ko-fi fee explainer; Buy Me a Coffee charge calculation, verified August 2026).
For creators who specifically want priced questions, shoutouts, or small services, FanBell is the more direct use-case match. See FanBell vs. Buy Me a Coffee.
Does Buy Me a Coffee take a bigger cut from memberships than one-time coffees?
Yes. The 5% platform fee applies to both, but subscription payments carry an additional 0.5%. International payments add another 1% regardless of payment type, according to Buy Me a Coffee’s charge-calculation article (verified August 2026).
A one-time domestic coffee therefore has fewer listed surcharges than an otherwise equivalent membership or international payment.
Do I need a following to use these platforms?
FanBell states that it has no follower minimum (paid fan interaction and pricing, verified August 2026). For Buy Me a Coffee, Ko-fi, Patreon, Substack, Gumroad, and Beacons, no follower minimum was stated on the official pricing, fee, cost, or FAQ pages cited in this comparison.
That finding should not be read as a universal eligibility guarantee. Creators should still check each service’s current signup, country, payment, and account requirements.
Can I use FanBell and Buy Me a Coffee together?
Yes. A creator can use Buy Me a Coffee for coffee-sized tips, a shop, and memberships while linking separately to FanBell for private questions, shoutouts, or small custom requests.
Buy Me a Coffee charges its platform fee when payments occur (charge-calculation article, verified August 2026). FanBell has no monthly fee and applies its 12% platform fee only when a fan pays (pricing, verified August 2026).
What should you read next?
For a full head-to-head on FanBell specifically, see FanBell vs. Buy Me a Coffee. For more on tip jars and platform fees generally, see Best Online Tip Jars for Creators and Best Creator Monetization Platforms in 2026.
If your fans already ask you for more than a tip — a question answered, a shoutout, a small favor — that's what FanBell is built for. Create your free FanBell page — it's free to start, and the 12% platform fee only applies once a fan actually pays you.