Get paid for fan interactions — start free.

Create your free FanBell link

TikTok Monetization

TikTok Monetization Requirements in 2026

A complete, sourced reference for TikTok monetization requirements in 2026: Creator Rewards, LIVE, LIVE Gifts, Video Gifts, and TikTok Shop eligibility rules.

Updated August 2026

Get paid for this — with FanBell

Locked out until 10,000 followers? Get paid by your fans directly, right now.

FanBell is a link in your bio where fans pay you directly for:

Tip$5+Shoutout$60Paid question$25Wishlist62%Custom service$120

There's no follower minimum and it's free to start — so you can earn on TikTok before you ever hit the Creator Rewards threshold.

No monthly fee · 12% only when a fan pays

TikTok monetization requirements in 2026 vary by program: Creator Rewards and Video Gifts each require 10,000 followers, while the US TikTok Shop affiliate path requires 1,000. TikTok’s cited official LIVE guidance sets an 18+ age requirement but publishes no fixed follower minimum; LIVE Gifts and seller eligibility follow separate rules.

Last verified August 2026. Because TikTok can change eligibility by program, account, and region, confirm access in your TikTok dashboard before applying.

For a broader look at TikTok income options—including methods without TikTok-imposed thresholds—see how to make money on TikTok.

What are the TikTok monetization requirements at a glance?

ProgramFollower minimumOther requirementsOfficial source
Creator Rewards10,000100,000 authentic video views in the last 30 days, 18+ (19 in South Korea), personal account, good standing, region-gatedTikTok Creator Academy
LIVE accessNo fixed minimum stated on the cited page18+; creators should check account-level access in the TikTok appTikTok Safety Center
LIVE GiftsNo fixed minimum stated on the cited page18+ to send or receive (19 to send in South Korea); region-dependentTikTok LIVE Gifts
Video Gifts10,000Account at least 30 days old, public video posted in the last 30 days, personal account, good standingTikTok Video Gifts
US TikTok Shop affiliate1,00018+, US-based, ID verificationTikTok Shop Seller Center
US TikTok Shop sellerNoneRegistered seller account, ID verificationTikTok Shop Seller Center

Creator Rewards’ 10,000-follower requirement and the widely repeated claim that LIVE requires 1,000 followers are not interchangeable. Each monetization feature has separate eligibility rules.

What are the Creator Rewards requirements in 2026?

TikTok’s Creator Academy states that Creator Rewards requires at least 10,000 followers and 100,000 authentic video views in the previous 30 days (TikTok Creator Academy, verified August 2026).

The complete published requirements are:

  • At least 10,000 followers
  • At least 100,000 authentic video views in the last 30 days
  • 18 or older, or 19 in South Korea
  • A personal account; business, organization, and government accounts do not qualify
  • An account in good standing with TikTok’s Community Guidelines
  • Original, public videos that are over one minute long for rewards eligibility
  • Residence in an eligible region

At the time of verification, eligible regions included the US, UK, Germany, Japan, South Korea, France, Mexico, and Brazil. TikTok has expanded availability before, so creators should check their own dashboard.

Sources: TikTok Creator Academy—Creator Rewards eligibility and the Creator Rewards Program terms, verified August 2026. For earnings information, see how much TikTok pays creators.

What are the requirements for TikTok LIVE and LIVE Gifts?

TikTok LIVE access and LIVE Gifts are separate features with different eligibility considerations.

What does TikTok officially require to go LIVE?

TikTok’s cited LIVE guidance specifies that creators must be 18 or older to go LIVE (TikTok Safety Center, verified August 2026).

That official page does not state a fixed follower minimum. This absence does not guarantee that every account receives LIVE access at the same point; access can be account- and region-dependent, so creators should rely on the eligibility shown inside their own TikTok app. The frequently repeated “1,000 followers” figure is not stated on the cited official page.

What does TikTok require to receive LIVE Gifts?

TikTok states that a user must be 18 or older to send or receive LIVE Gifts, with a minimum age of 19 to send Gifts in South Korea (TikTok LIVE Gifts, verified August 2026).

LIVE Gifts let viewers send Gifts during a livestream, which can convert to Diamonds. Availability depends on the creator’s region, and the cited official page does not identify a universal follower minimum.

What are the requirements for TikTok Video Gifts?

Video Gifts allow viewers to send Gifts on posted videos outside of LIVE. TikTok’s official Video Gifts guidance requires 10,000 followers, an account that is at least 30 days old, and at least one public video posted in the previous 30 days (TikTok Video Gifts, verified August 2026).

The requirements are:

  • At least 10,000 followers
  • An account at least 30 days old
  • At least one public video posted in the last 30 days
  • A personal account
  • An account in good standing

Video Gifts and LIVE Gifts are separate programs. A creator’s eligibility for one does not automatically establish eligibility for the other. For a threshold comparison, see how many followers you need to make money on TikTok.

What are the US TikTok Shop requirements in 2026?

The requirements below apply specifically to TikTok Shop in the United States because the cited source is TikTok’s US Seller Center. TikTok Shop rules can differ by country.

TikTok’s US Seller Center lists two paths:

  • Affiliate or creator path: at least 1,000 followers, age 18 or older, US-based, and identity verification
  • Own-product seller path: no follower minimum, but a registered seller account and identity verification are required

Source: TikTok Shop Seller Center, verified August 2026. Creators outside the United States should check the Seller Center or Shop dashboard for their own market rather than applying these US thresholds globally.

How can you earn if you do not meet TikTok’s requirements?

Falling short of a follower, view, age, region, or account-age threshold excludes you from the relevant TikTok program—not necessarily from earning through your audience. TikTok’s program thresholds do not govern payments that fans make directly to a creator through an independent service.

FanBell lets creators offer paid private questions, personalized shoutouts, small services, tips, and project support with no follower minimum (how FanBell works, verified August 2026). FanBell is free to start with no monthly fee and charges a 12% platform fee only when a fan pays (pricing, verified August 2026); payouts run through Stripe (how FanBell works, verified August 2026).

Direct fan monetization can complement TikTok’s own programs rather than replace them. A creator can use FanBell while building toward Creator Rewards, Video Gifts, or the US TikTok Shop affiliate threshold, then continue using both after qualifying.

For more alternatives, see making money on TikTok without Creator Rewards and making money on TikTok with a small following. FanBell for TikTok creators explains how direct fan monetization can fit alongside TikTok’s programs.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need 1,000 followers to go LIVE on TikTok?

The cited official TikTok LIVE guidance states that creators must be 18 or older, but it does not state a fixed 1,000-follower minimum (TikTok Safety Center, verified August 2026). Because access can vary, check the LIVE eligibility displayed in your own TikTok app.

Do LIVE Gifts and Video Gifts have the same requirements?

No. The cited LIVE Gifts page does not identify a universal follower minimum, but it requires users to be 18 or older to send or receive Gifts, with a sending age of 19 in South Korea. Video Gifts require 10,000 followers, a 30-day-old account, and a recent public video.

Can you join Creator Rewards with fewer than 10,000 followers?

No. TikTok’s Creator Academy lists 10,000 followers and 100,000 authentic video views in the last 30 days among the Creator Rewards eligibility requirements, verified August 2026.

What is the lowest-threshold option for a small TikTok account?

For US TikTok Shop, selling your own products has no follower minimum, while the affiliate path requires 1,000 followers. Direct fan monetization through FanBell also has no follower minimum (how FanBell works, verified August 2026).

Ready to earn from fans without waiting to hit a follower threshold? Create your free FanBell page and set up your first paid offer in minutes.

Ready to get paid for the interactions you already get?

Create your free FanBell link