Competitor details last verified 2026-08-20. Platforms change pricing and features — verify on the provider’s official pages.
Choose FanBell if paid fan interaction—private questions, shoutouts, small services, tips, or project support—is the main thing you want to sell. Choose Beacons if you need a broader link-in-bio storefront for products, affiliate links, and a media kit, with fan requests as one feature. Neither platform is universally better.
Last verified: August 2026. Pricing and features on both platforms can change, so check each company’s official pricing page before deciding.
How should you choose between FanBell and Beacons?
FanBell is purpose-built for paid fan interaction. Its six offer types are Paid Private Questions, Personalized Shoutouts, Creator Services, Tips, Wishlist/Project Support, and Brand Collaboration Inquiries (how it works, verified August 2026).
Beacons is a broader link-in-bio and storefront platform. It combines links, digital-product sales, creator tools, and paid requests within one platform; its Requests Block is one feature rather than the platform’s sole focus (Beacons plans, verified August 2026).
Choose FanBell when access to you—your answers, time, personalized messages, or small services—is the product. Choose Beacons when you need a wider storefront for products, affiliate links, and brand-facing tools, with requests alongside them. For the underlying tradeoff, see link-in-bio stores vs. paid fan interaction pages.
How do FanBell and Beacons compare?
| Dimension | FanBell | Beacons |
|---|---|---|
| Core model | Paid fan interaction is the product | Link-in-bio and storefront platform with paid requests as one feature |
| Monthly cost | $0 per month and free to start (pricing, verified August 2026) | Free: $0; Creator: $10/month; Creator Plus: $30/month; Creator Max: $90/month. Annual billing discounts these prices (Beacons plans, verified August 2026) |
| Platform fee | 12% of each paid transaction, charged only when a fan pays (pricing, verified August 2026) | Free and Creator: 9%; Creator Plus and Creator Max: 0% (Beacons plans, verified August 2026) |
| Payment processing | Payments and bank payouts run through Stripe (how it works, verified August 2026) | Beacons’ pricing page does not state processor rates, payout schedules, or payout thresholds (Beacons plans, checked August 2026) |
| Card-processing benchmark | Stripe’s standard US online-card rate is 2.9% plus $0.30 per successful transaction, separate from FanBell’s platform fee (Stripe pricing, verified August 2026) | Processor charges, where applicable, are separate from Beacons’ stated platform pricing |
| Offer types | Six fixed types: Paid Private Questions, Personalized Shoutouts, Creator Services, Tips, Wishlist/Project Support, and Brand Collaboration Inquiries (features, verified August 2026) | Links, storefront tools, creator tools, paid requests, and a separate Support feature (Beacons plans, verified August 2026) |
| Paid Q&A and requests | Native, front-and-center offer types (how it works, verified August 2026) | Available as a Requests Block within a broader page (Beacons plans, verified August 2026) |
| Follower minimum | No follower minimum (how it works, verified August 2026) | Beacons’ official plans page states no audience-size requirement (Beacons plans, checked August 2026) |
| Best suited for | Creators monetizing questions, shoutouts, services, tips, or project support | Creators who want a broader storefront, link page, and creator-tool suite |
Beacons’ plan names, monthly prices, custom-domain availability on paid tiers, and 9%/0% fee split come from its official plans page, verified August 2026. That page also says Beacons charges no fee on its donation-style Support feature.
However, the pricing page does not separately define whether the stated 9%/0% seller-fee schedule applies identically to every Requests Block payment. Confirm the current treatment of Requests directly with Beacons before using those percentages for a final cost projection.
When does Beacons Creator Plus cost less than FanBell?
FanBell’s 12% platform fee equals Beacons Creator Plus’s $30 monthly price at $250 in monthly paid-request volume. Above $250, Creator Plus has the lower stated platform charge—provided Beacons’ advertised 0% seller fee applies to Requests payments. Below $250, FanBell’s 12% costs less than the $30 subscription.
| Monthly paid-request volume | FanBell at 12% | Beacons Creator Plus at $30/month and 0% | Lower stated platform charge |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100 | $12 | $30 | FanBell |
| $250 | $30 | $30 | Equal |
| $500 | $60 | $30 | Beacons Creator Plus |
| $1,000 | $120 | $30 | Beacons Creator Plus |
These examples compare only the stated platform fee or subscription price. They exclude payment-processing charges and assume Beacons’ 0% Creator Plus rate applies to Requests. FanBell’s 12% fee and $0 monthly price are documented on FanBell pricing, while Beacons lists Creator Plus at $30 per month with a 0% seller fee on Beacons plans, both verified August 2026.
The break-even formula is straightforward:
$30 ÷ 12% = $250 per month.
Cost is not the only consideration. Creator Plus is a broader subscription, while FanBell is a focused paid-interaction product. Compare what each platform lets you sell, not just the fee at one revenue level. For wider context, see creator platform fees compared.
Who is FanBell best for?
FanBell fits creators whose monetizable moment is a conversation rather than a downloadable product. Typical fan messages include “Can I ask you something?”, “Can you wish my friend a happy birthday?”, or “Can you review my page?”
FanBell turns those interactions into six fixed paid offers: Private Questions, Personalized Shoutouts, Creator Services, Tips, Wishlist/Project Support, and Brand Collaboration Inquiries (features, verified August 2026). It is free to start, has no monthly fee, and charges a 12% platform fee only when a fan pays (pricing, verified August 2026).
FanBell also has no follower minimum, and payments and payouts are handled through Stripe (how it works, verified August 2026). That makes it a focused option for creators whose audience already asks for advice, personalized content, or small favors.
The tradeoff is scope: FanBell is not designed as a digital-download or merchandise storefront. Its narrower focus is intentional. See paid fan interaction, browse the creator use cases, or review other platform comparisons.
Who is Beacons best for?
Beacons fits creators who want one page to perform several jobs: organize links, sell digital products, support affiliate activity, present creator or brand information, and accept occasional paid requests. Its broader toolset is documented on the official Beacons plans page, verified August 2026.
Beacons is therefore the more natural fit when products, affiliate links, or brand-facing tools generate most of your income and fan requests are an additional revenue stream. Its Free and Creator plans list a 9% seller fee, while Creator Plus and Creator Max list a 0% seller fee at $30 and $90 per month, respectively (Beacons plans, verified August 2026).
Before committing, confirm how the current fee schedule applies specifically to Requests payments and review Beacons’ current processor and payout terms, because those details are not separately stated on its pricing page.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between FanBell and Beacons?
FanBell centers the entire page on paid fan interaction: private questions, shoutouts, services, tips, project support, and brand inquiries (features, verified August 2026). Beacons is a broader link-in-bio and storefront platform that includes paid requests among multiple creator tools (Beacons plans, verified August 2026).
Is FanBell or Beacons cheaper?
FanBell costs $0 per month and charges 12% only when a fan pays (pricing, verified August 2026). Beacons lists a 9% seller fee on its Free and Creator plans and a 0% seller fee on Creator Plus and Creator Max, which cost $30 and $90 per month (Beacons plans, verified August 2026).
At $250 in monthly volume, FanBell’s 12% equals $30. Creator Plus becomes cheaper on stated platform charges above $250, assuming its 0% fee applies to Requests. Payment-processing costs are separate.
Can you use FanBell and Beacons together?
Yes. A creator can use Beacons for products, affiliate links, and brand information while linking to FanBell for paid questions, shoutouts, services, tips, or project support. The platforms are not mutually exclusive because they can serve different purchase intentions.
Is FanBell a good alternative to Beacons?
FanBell is a good Beacons alternative when paid fan interaction is the main offering. It has no monthly fee, no follower minimum, and a 12% fee that applies only after a fan pays (pricing and how it works, verified August 2026).
Beacons remains the broader fit when digital products, storefront features, or brand tools are central to the business.
Is either platform universally better?
No. The better platform depends on what fans are paying for.
A musician funding studio time through shoutouts and Q&A may benefit from a page built around direct interaction. A creator selling a $19 template pack alongside affiliate links and brand partnerships is more likely to need a broader storefront and media kit. Match the platform to the transaction you want fans to complete.
Ready to see whether paid fan interaction fits how your audience already treats you? Create a free FanBell link — it takes a few minutes, there's no monthly fee, and you only pay the 12% platform fee when a fan actually pays you.